About step-by-step "Building,Training" a net and model for very easy example

I had read lots of examples, most of them teach how to recognize photos or something more complex.
For a absolute novice, I just want to try a simple question like:
inputs: 100 of 1X1 matrix, like 1,2,3,…,100
and outputs: still 100 of 1X1 matrix, like 1,4,9,16,…,10000 , which is the input’s square
I tried to digest lots of information from every websites, but I still cannot understand what should I do to build a net, train a model, and at the end how can I have a well-trained model. At the end, I can open this model and try to give it an input and try to get an output from it.
I think only after I understand such a simple question, I can move forward to handle some difficult question.
(actually, I had tried this on matlab, and it is easy ,just have to type on excel, click some button and it is done.)

1 Like

I will create a small jupyter notebook containing an example for this (with some explanations inside). Are you familiar with the theoretic background? I will post it in a few hours.

1 Like

Thank you very much!
I had read so many examples and find out that it’s so difficult to make everything together(from the very beginning to the end). :disappointed_relieved:

I understand the theoretic background , but It’s so difficult for me to write something out. especially most of the examples are so complex!

Great, so I won’t spend much time on the theoretic background but explain the implementation. I’ll post here again, once it’s finished (probably in about 5-6 hours since I got some other stuff to do before ).

1 Like

okay!!
Thanks again!

Here you go:

https://nbviewer.jupyter.org/gist/justusschock/63e8d3258d313e63b80ebbe218343532

If you execute it youself, you will also see a progressbar (unfortunately it is not rendered by nbviewer).

Note that this example is very minimalistic and far from complete, but it should give you a first impression.

2 Likes

Thanks a lot!