Calculate first model's gradients based on another model's loss

Hello,
I am new to Pytorch and I want to implement an algorithm of the following format,

#input1...
output1 = model1(input1)

output = model1(some_input)
#calling output as input2 from now on

output2 = model2(input2)
loss2 = fn(output2)
loss2.backward()

If am not wrong, loss2.backward() should compute the gradients wrt the parameters of model1 as the ‘output’ from model1 is input to model2. But when I check the parameters using the code,

for params in model1.parameters():
   print(params.grad.norm())

The value of the ‘norm’ is constant even after the backward pass, indicating no gradients were calculated for model1’s parameters. I wonder why is this happening? I am using the
hugging face library for the models.
This is my reproducible code

import torch
import torch.nn.functional as F
from transformers import BertModel, BertForMaskedLM, BertConfig, EncoderDecoderModel
model1 = EncoderDecoderModel.from_encoder_decoder_pretrained('bert-base-uncased', 'bert-base-uncased') 
model2 = EncoderDecoderModel.from_encoder_decoder_pretrained('bert-base-uncased', 'bert-base-uncased') 

#fake inputs 
en_input=torch.tensor([[1,2], [3,4]])
de_output=torch.tensor([[3], [4]])
lm_labels=torch.tensor([[5], [6]])

output1 = model1(input_ids=en_input, decoder_input_ids=de_output, labels=lm_labels)

output = model1.generate(input_ids=en_input, decoder_start_token_id=0) #input2

new_labels=torch.rand(2, output.shape[1])
new_labels=new_labels.long()

output2=model2(input_ids=en_input, decoder_input_ids=output, labels=new_labels)

prediction_scores = output2[1]
predictions = F.log_softmax(prediction_scores, dim=2)
loss2 = (predictions.sum() - output.sum()).sum() # some loss
loss2.backward(retain_graph=True)
#now I check model1's parameters