Calculate gradients using chain rule

Hello,
I am new to pytorch and am implementing this pipeline.

1. training of first model (model1) on a dataset (d1)
  2. generation of new dataset (d2) using model1 on unlabeled examples
  3. training of model2 on the new dataset d2
  4. estimating A, by reducing the validation loss of model2 on the validation set of d1.
    I have produced a distilled version of my use case.
import torch
import torch.nn as nn

ip1= torch.rand(1,1,3)
ip2 =  torch.rand(1,1,3)
ip3 = torch.rand(1,1,3)

cnn1d_1 = nn.Conv1d(in_channels=1, out_channels=1, kernel_size=3, stride=1)
cnn1d_2 = nn.Conv1d(in_channels=1, out_channels=1, kernel_size=1, stride=2)
A=torch.rand(1, requires_grad=True)

optimizer1 = torch.optim.Adam(cnn1d_1.parameters(), lr=0.001)
optimizer2 = torch.optim.Adam(cnn1d_2.parameters(), lr=0.001)
optimizer3 = torch.optim.SGD([A], lr=0.001)

# step 1
output=cnn1d_1(ip1) #forward pass through first model of sample ip1
loss1=output.sum()*A # calculating some loss * A
for param in cnn1d_1.parameters():
      param.retain_grad()
A.retain_grad()

loss1.backward(retain_graph=True, create_graph=True) #should calculate gradients for model1's parameters and A
optimizer1.step() #update model1's params

#step 2
inp=cnn1d_1(ip2) #forward pass of unlabeled example ip2 through model1
out=cnn1d_2(inp) #output of previous step fed into model 2
loss2=out.sum() #calculating some loss.

loss2.backward(retain_graph=True, create_graph=True)  # should calculate gradients for model 1 and model 2's parameters.
optimizer2.step() #update model2's params

#step 3
out_new=cnn1d_2(ip3) # fake sample from validation set
loss3=out_new.sum()
A.retain_grad()

loss3.backward(retain_graph=True, create_graph=True) # want to calculate the gradients of loss 3 wrt A
optimizer3.step() # update A based on calculated gradients.

So my aim is to calculate the gradients of loss 3 wrt A and update A based on them. Now if am not wrong,