Calculating Validation Losses After Training Finished

I’m new to PyTorch and to CNNs in general so I apologize if this is a strange question. I’ve trained a pretrained VGG-16 network and saved the checkpoint from each epoch along the way, but I’ve realized that while I have the training losses printed for each epoch, I didn’t have the validation losses.

So I’m wondering: Is it possible to run through in model.eval() and manually calculate the losses for each epoch with the checkpoints I have saved along the way? Would I need to call loss.backward() here as well?

You call loss.backward() when you need to backpropogate your loss to your weights, which happens during training, you need not do it in validation step. You can load the weights to the model from the checkpoints and compute the loss from the output of the model directly.

When I printed out loss.item() after calling loss.backward() during the training process, would this have changed the value of the loss?

When I load the weights to the model from checkpoints and compute loss directly on the training data, I get a significantly different loss than when I was printing it during training. Is this normal or am I doing something wrong?

First case, I’m not sure. I save the loss.item() in another variable before loss.backward()

Second case, when you are training, each loss.backward() changes the model weights so the next batch loss would be different from what you would expect while doing model.eval()

Hope that answers your question, would be happy to elaborate if not.

Thanks for your answers, it’s very helpful in understanding how things work.

Just wondering one more thing – I’m still getting some weird numbers and noticed the code I’m using has a different batch size for the dataloader for training data (batchsize = 2) and for the validation data (batchsize = 1).