Callbacks in Pytorch

I am new to Pytorch and I was wondering if they are any way of using callback like in keras. I know Ignite can do it but is there any other way using only Pytorch?
Thanks a lot! :smiley:

Hi,

Pytorch, contrary to Keras/ignite does not provide a builtin training loop. You will have to write it yourself (usually <10 lines) and so you will be able to call all the functions you want in there :slight_smile:

1 Like

Okay thanks. Do you have an example of what it would look like? Thank you.
I already have a training loop but I want to make it more generic

for epoch in range(nb_epoch):
    train_running_loss = training_model(train_loader, net, optimizer, criterion, train_set)
    val_running_loss = eval_model(val_loader, net, criterion, val_set)
    #thats where I want to do the callbacks
    if early_stopping(patience_rn, experiment["training"]["patience"]):
            break
    update_patience_weight(net, val_running_loss, best_val_loss, patience_rn, BEST_PATH)

I would recommend you check the 60min blitz and in particular the section on neural nets there that will explain it better than I could https://pytorch.org/tutorials/beginner/deep_learning_60min_blitz.html

Sorry I forgot to show you my code. I already have a training loop that work well. I wanted to add the callback in a generic way. The code is one answer before this one. Sorry !

So your training loop should just take a function as input that will be called at that line?
Sorry I think Iā€™m not understanding your question fully.

1 Like

Sorry if I am not clear English is not my first language :sweat_smile:. I have a .json file that contains all the parameters of my experience (the net I use, the optimizer I use, the learning rate, etc.) I would like to be able to generate my callbacks from the .json file so I can decide which callbacks I want to do without having to change the program. I hope it is more clear. Thank you! :slight_smile:

Ho.