Change float labels to integer labels for binary segmentation

Dear engineers,

I am sorry if my question might seem silly, but I would like to learn. I am quite new to programming and segmentation tasks. In effect, I am having a dataset with labels that are not in the form of [0,1] as It should be for a binary segmentation task. The readme of the data says that the probability of the label ranges from 0 to 1 and that I should use a threshold value of 0.5 to adjust the data before feeding into the network. Please, I would like to get a better understanding of this concept as well as how I can modify the label before feeding the data into the network. When I input the data and labels to the network without thresholding the labels, the network cannot detect anything.

Any suggestions and/or comments would be highly appreciated

Best regards,

Could you explain a bit how you are feeding the target to the network?
Usually you would feed the data into the model and use its output and target to calculate the loss.
You don’t need to apply a threshold on the target to calculate the loss.
However you might want to apply a threshold on the model outputs to get the class predictions (for a binary use case).

I am grateful for your reply sir.

Yes, you are right. I am not applying a threshold on the target to calculate the loss.

I am feeding the target directly without considering any threshold.

Am I supposed to apply a threshold to the target before feeding into the network? I have noticed that the loss could decrease normally without anything strange. However, The testing results were very bad ( dice = 0.002).

Please, I would like to know when and how should the threshold be applied

Thank you for your time and patience

Usually not, but I might misunderstand your use case.
Do you want to apply a threshold to the target or your model outputs?
The latter case would make sense, while I’m not sure about the former one.