Combining image and scalar value as inputs

I have been training a resnet34 Convolutional network using fastai which classifies images of rooms of a house as to ‘kitchen’,‘bathroom’,‘bedroom’ etc. I am trying to predict the real estate selling price of this property from the photos. I have a seperate NN which does reasonably well using other advertisement data, but I want to see how the photos can add to this.

Hence, I can provide the initial price estimate as a scalar value in parallel to the photo of the room, using my previously trained Convolution NN as a starting point (transfer learning)

I’m new to Pytorch and trying to get a better grasp at it as I go deeper than what fastai provides. How would I define my nn.Module class to receive an image and scalar value as the inputs, then forward the scalar value past the Convolutional resnet34 to be combined with it’s top layer for a final 1 or 2 layer before attempting an improved final price prediction scalar output?

Great question- covariates indeed can be useful, but also tricky to implement correctly. I assume you have a nn.Module class that includes resnet34 as one of its members with a few linear layers. Something like:

self.resnet = resnet34()
self.regression = nn.Linear(1000,1)

to predict (I’m guessing) price (output of self.regression).

It’s actually quite easy in principle to do what you want, but the implementation might take some optimization. Generally, you need to pass both the input image (as a 4D tensor) and price (as a 2D tensor) to the forward method of your module class. Resnet outputs 1000 linear dimensions or features, so after this you can concat the price as a feature to this output.