Converting Lua to PyTorch

Hello,

I’ve seen some posts about this topic, but I my lack of knowledge with regards to lua is providing me some difficulty with converting a segment of code to work with PyTorch. I have also never worked with PyTorch. Honestly this whole task is entirely uncharted waters, so answers can be literally anything anyone might think is helpful.

I have pasted the portion of code. I am trying to pull this CNN encoder from a model from a paper to use with another model. The paper uses a pretrained google word2vec model (GoogleNews-vectors-negative300) which you can see is loaded into a LookupTable. This segment of code is drawn from this: oposum/hierMIL.lua at master · stangelid/oposum · GitHub but I only need the sentenceEncoder part. I’m a research undergrad and feel a bit overwhelmed, so any help would be great. Thank you.

require 'nn'
require 'nngraph'
require 'dpnn'
require 'rnn'
require 'model.Unsqueeze_nc'
require 'model.MixtureTableVarLen'

local ModelBuilder = torch.class('ModelBuilder')

function ModelBuilder:__init(w2v)
  self.w2v = w2v
end

function ModelBuilder:getSentenceEncoder()
  if opt.cudnn == 1 then
    require 'cudnn'
    require 'cunn'
  end

local lookup = nn.LookupTable(3000000, 300)
  if opt.model_type ~= 'rand' then
    lookup.weight:copy(self.w2v)
  else
    lookup.weight:uniform(-0.25, 0.25)
  end
  lookup.weight[1]:zero()

local kernels = {3,4,5}
  local kconcat = nn.ConcatTable()
  for i = 1, #kernels do
    local conv
    if opt.cudnn == 1 then
      conv = cudnn.SpatialConvolution(1, 100, 300, kernels[i])
      conv.weight:uniform(-0.01, 0.01)
      conv.bias:zero()

local single_conv = nn.Sequential()
      single_conv:add(conv)
      if opt.bn == 1 then
        single_conv:add(nn.SpatialBatchNormalization(100))
      end
      single_conv:add(nn.Squeeze(3,3))
      single_conv:add(cudnn.ReLU(true))
      single_conv:add(nn.Max(2,2))
      single_conv:add(nn.Unsqueeze(1,1))

kconcat:add(single_conv)
    end