Data reading from text files

Hi, I am new to Pytorch. I have images stored in many text files and labels (which are vectors) stored in separate text files. I want to extract from these images some physical properties, which are buried in them, that is why the labels are vectors. I want to make a dataset to be able to use dataloaders on these files. What is the best way to load these data? Should I write a custom Dataset class or there is a standard way to read these data. One way, I imagine is to convert the text files into some image format and then use ImageLoader. What is your opinion ? Many thanks.

Based on your description I think writing a custom Dataset sounds like a valid approach.
You can take a look at this tutorial for an example.

Thanks. I transformed the txt files to grayscale images using matplotlib’s imsave(cmap=plt.cm.gray). When I use a ToTensor() transform on such an image opened with PIL’s open method I get a tensor shape of [4, 256, 256]. Since the images are grayscale, shouldn’t I get [1, 256, 256]? Many thanks.

ToTensor shouldn’t change the number of channels. Could you check the shape of the loaded PIL.Image (or its underlying numpy array)? I would guess that PIL is already loading it in this shape.

The PIL image is of 256x256 size, but as I printed out the image object it said that it has an image mode RGBA. I guess this could be the problem. I still don’t understand why imsave() does not save it as grayscale with a single channel. I also tried PIL’s fromarray() function to save to image format, but my arrays contain float values (some of the very small values, therefore a direct conversion to int values results in zeros for the whole array) and fromarray expects uint8. Is there any way to save as an image a float valued numpy array ? Many thanks. You are very kind to answer all these questions.