Data splitting should be performed before or after the custom data loader?

I am quite new to PyTorch. I am working on multiclass classification. The images of all the classes are present under single folder. I used a custom loader to create sample having the image and its respective label as follows.

class DFU_Dataset(Dataset):
    def __init__(self, root_dir, csv, transform,loader=pil_loader):

self.root_dir = root_dir
        self.labels = pd.read_csv(csv)
        self.transform = transform
        self.loader = loader

def __len__(self):

return len(self.labels)

def __getitem__(self, idx):

img_name = os.path.join(self.root_dir , self.labels.iloc[idx,0])
        image = self.loader(img_name)

label = np.argmax(self.labels.loc[idx, 'none':'both'].values)
        label = torch.from_numpy(np.asarray(label))

# Transform
        if self.transform is not None:

image = self.transform(image)
            sample = {'image': image , 'label': label}   
            return sample
transform = transforms.Compose([transforms.ToTensor()]) #populate later
DFU_Dataset = DFU_Dataset(root_dir = '/Users/sidraaleem/Documents/code/DFU/Labelled_test_images',
                          csv = '/Users/sidraaleem/Documents/code/DFU/Labelled_data_ground_truth.csv',
                          transform = transform
                          )

Now I am trying to split the dataset to train and test set as follows:

dataset_size = len(DFU_Dataset)
indices = list(range(dataset_size))
np.random.seed(42) # not working
#random.seed(230)
np.random.shuffle(dataset_indices)
split = int(np.floor(0.2 * dataset_size))
np.random.shuffle(indices)
train_idx, test_idx = indices[split:], indices[:split]
train_sampler = SubsetRandomSampler(train_idx)
test_sampler = SubsetRandomSampler(test_idx)
train_loader = DataLoader(dataset=DFU_Dataset, shuffle=False, sampler=train_sampler)
test_loader = DataLoader(dataset=DFU_Dataset, shuffle=False,  sampler=test_sampler)

print("train loader:",len(val_loader.dataset))