Dataloader and transform on loaded dataframe

Hi,

I am extremely new to PyTorch and would need a little guidance/clarification.

The tutorial I am inspiring myself from to build my CNN is: Training a Classifier — PyTorch Tutorials 1.10.0+cu102 documentation

I am trying to build my own CNN using a local dataset. The dataset consists of roughly 10,000 images of 56x56.

I have loaded the data using pickle as follows:

with open("./images_l.pkl", 'rb') as f: imgs = pickle.load(f)
with open("./labels_l.pkl", 'rb') as f: labels = pickle.load(f)

From the tutorial, it seems as though we want to wrap the dataset in a data loader. So I convert the NumPy array into a dataset and then wrap it in a dataloader as follows:

trainset = torch.utils.data.TensorDataset(torch.tensor(imgs), torch.tensor(labels))
trainloader = torch.utils.data.DataLoader(trainset, batch_size=4)

After doing what’s above, defining + instantiating the CNN and setting the appropriate loss function/optimizer, I attempt to train the network, but there seems to be a mismatch with the dimensions which, I assume, is because the transformation is not applied.

Error message:

Expected 4-dimensional input for 4-dimensional weight [6, 1, 5, 5], but got 3-dimensional input of size [4, 56, 56] instead

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

The channel dimension is missing in your inputs, so you would need to add them via torch.from_numpy(imgs).unsqueeze(1).

Thank you for your reply!

I was unaware that it is always recommended to use Custom Datasets when not using a PyTorch dataset.
After creating the custom dataset class and instantiating it, I have maintained the desired dimensions, but the images are losing the 3 RGB channels and the images being converted to binary for some reason. I think it’s due to my transforms, but still figuring that out.

You don’t necessarily need a custom Dataset, if you unsqueeze the missing dimension before passing the tensor to TensorDataset.