Does this parametrized model ansatz from interferometric optics break the graph or backwards()?

Hi! I am rather new to PyTorch and I need to implement a parametrized model ansatz from inteferometer optics instead of the usual neural network ansatz.

The ansatz is called the Clements layout. It takes as input real-valued numbers (the phases), and produces a complex-valued matrix (unitary transformation).

The basic element it relies on is a 2x2-matrix:

def MZI(phases):
    M = torch.tensor([[ torch.exp(1j*phases[0])*torch.cos(phases[1]) , -torch.sin(phases[1]) ], [ torch.exp(1j*phases[0])*torch.sin(phases[1]) , torch.cos(phases[1]) ]])
    return M

These 2x2-matrices get used to define a big unitary matrix that serves as one layer:

def ClementsLayer(dim, withSkip , phases):
    if withSkip == 0:
        if dim % 2 == 0:
            for k in range(dim//2):
                if k == 0:
                    M = MZI(phases[0:2])
                else:
                    M = torch.block_diag(M, MZI(phases[k : k+2]))
        if dim % 2 == 1:
            for k in range((dim-1)//2):
                if k == 0:
                    M = MZI(phases[0:2])
                else:
                    M = torch.block_diag(M, MZI(phases[k : k+2]))
            M = torch.block_diag(M, torch.ones(size = [1,1]))
    if withSkip == 1:
        if dim % 2 == 0:
            M = torch.ones(size = [1,1])
            for k in range((dim-2)//2):
                M = torch.block_diag(M, MZI(phases[k:k+2]))
            M = torch.block_diag(M, torch.ones(size = [1,1]))
        if dim % 2 == 1:
            M=torch.ones(size=[1,1])
            for k in range((dim-1)//2):
                M = torch.block_diag(M , MZI(phases[k:k+2]))
    return M

These layers get multiplied to obtain the final model ansatz:

def Clements(dim, ClementsPhases, outputPhases):
    M = torch.eye(dim , dtype = torch.cfloat)
    for k in range(dim):