Efficiently Computing Derivative of Policy Network (for Natural Actor-Critic)

I’m relatively new to Pytorch and am trying to implement a natural actor-critic (NAC) algorithm where my policy pi is a DNN. See algorithm 2 in Thomas (2014) for a simple example. In order to do this, I want to compute the natural gradient x by minimising the following loss, where nu is the on-policy state-action distribution, and A is the advantage function (which I already have):

My question is: How do I best (most efficiently) compute the score function (the derivative of the log of the policy w.r.t. its parameters theta)?

I have a naive implementation already, but it involves computing this score function for each individual state-action sample using a single application of torch.autograd.grad, and is therefore horrendously slow. I am aware that NAC algorithms have been used before for fairly high-dimensional control tasks, but have been unable to find an existing implementation online.

Any help would be hugely appreciated, thank you!

Wouldn’t the typical thing be that

• You use mini-batching of different actions,
  • you only sample a subset of possible actions?

Hi Thomas, thanks very much for your reply! I’m already sampling mini-batches (of size 32) from my replay buffer but this is still incredibly slow (even though I’m only using a toy environment at the moment). Perhaps to make things more concrete, my (pseudo-ish) code for computing the scores is as follows:

scores = []

log_probs = self.policy(states).log_prob(actions)

for params in self.actor.parameters():
    scores.append(torch.stack([torch.autograd.grad(outputs=l_p, inputs=params, retain_graph=True)[0] for l_p in log_probs]))

It may well be that this is the only/fastest way of doing things (although I doubt that!), but in which case I suppose I just need to perform this computation as few times as I possible can during learning.

Any further suggestions or comments are greatly appreciated :slight_smile: