Export detectron2 pre-trained mask-rcnn to ONNX with BatchNorm.

Hi folks,

BLOT: Need help exporting detectron2’s maskrcnn to ONNX along with the frozen batch norm layers.

I’m fairly new to detectron2 framework and had some issues exporting detectron2’s mask-rcnn to onnx, retaining the frozen batch norm layers from the torch model.

I have been successful in importing the resnet-50 mask-rcnn network using the code snippet below. But in this case, the frozen batch norm layers get optimized out/ constant-folded in the exported ONNX network.

modelName = "R_50_C4_3x"
modelYaml = "COCO-InstanceSegmentation/mask_rcnn_"+modelName+".yaml"
torch_model = model_zoo.get(modelYaml, trained=True)
cfg = get_cfg()
cfg.merge_from_file(model_zoo.get_config_file(modelYaml))
cfg.MODEL.WEIGHTS = model_zoo.get_checkpoint_url(modelYaml)

# COCO dataset loader
data_loader = build_detection_test_loader(cfg, cfg.DATASETS.TEST[0], num_workers=0)
first_batch = next(iter(data_loader))

tracer = Caffe2Tracer(cfg, torch_model, first_batch)
onnx_model = tracer.export_onnx()
onnx.save(onnx_model, "mrcnn_onnx.onnx"))

Based off a conversation from this thread, my understanding is that, using the torch.onnx.export() function, we can turn off constant_folding and optimizations, when exported using the training=TrainingMode.TRAINING option. After which, the frozen batch norm layer wouldn’t get optimized out. However, while trying this out, I run into an error (pasted below)

Updated export code:

torch.onnx.export(torch_model, first_batch, "mrcnn.onnx", verbose=True, do_constant_folding=True) #, training=TrainingMode.TRAINING)

Error message:

File "/Users/ad/anaconda3/envs/torch/lib/python3.9/site-packages/torch/onnx/utils.py", line 632, in _export
    _model_to_graph(model, args, verbose, input_names,
  File "/Users/ad/anaconda3/envs/torch/lib/python3.9/site-packages/torch/onnx/utils.py", line 409, in _model_to_graph
    graph, params, torch_out = _create_jit_graph(model, args,