FCN_resnet101 implementation help

Hi,

I’m trying to to train the fcn_resnet101 model with my own data to do image semantic segmentation. I’m trying do this implement this by trying to use the fine tuning tutorial, structure. Right now I am able to train, but I’m pretty sure I’m not using the right loss functions, and optimizers and probably a lot more missing functions. I am just beginning with Pytorch fyi.

My images come in batch shape: (N, 3, 256, 256)
My mask come in batch shape: (N, 256, 256) # each pixel is a class 0,1 or 2

I changed the last classifier layer of the to my 3 amount of classes (bg, window frame, glass), like this ( I hope this is the correct way):

num_classes = 3  # (background, kozine, glass)
model.classifier[4] = nn.Conv2d(512, num_classes, kernel_size=(1,1), stride=(1,1))

These are following model params I have put in the model:

# model params
num_epochs = 3
criterion = nn.modules.loss.CrossEntropyLoss()
optimizer = torch.optim.SGD(model.parameters(), lr=0.005, momentum=0.9, weight_decay=0.0005)
dataloader = DataLoader(trainset, batch_size=5)

The model training code itself.

start_time = time.time()

best_model = copy.deepcopy(model.state_dict())
best_acc = 0.0
val_acc_hist = []

for epoch in range(num_epochs):
    print('Epoch: {}/ {}'.format(epoch + 1, num_epochs))

epoch_loss = 0    
    running_loss = 0.0
    running_corrects = 0

# Iterate batches over dataloader
    for k, (inputs, labels) in enumerate(dataloader):
        print(f'processing batch {k}...')

# move to gpu 
        _inputs = inputs.cuda()
        _labels = labels.cuda()

# zero the gradients again
        optimizer.zero_grad()

# forward
        outputs = model(_inputs) # one batch forward 
        loss1 = criterion(outputs['out'], _labels.long()) # get score of output
        loss2 = criterion(outputs['aux'], _labels.long())
        loss = loss1 + 0.4*loss2
        loss.backward()
        optimizer.step() # move weights

# save preds and take highest prediction