Find global minimun with GD

I have trained a NN with a vector input and scalar output (regression).
Now I want to find the global minimun of the NN using GD with pytorch.

I’m new to programming in general, python specifically, and pytorch even more specifically.

I believe what I’m trying to do must have been done a thousand times before, if not ten thousand times. I’ll be super happy and grateful if anyone could point me to some code somewhere (maybe in github) where there’s an example of what I’m trying to do that I could adjust to my needs.

meaning:
I want to know what inputs will give the minimum (maximum) output

Now I want to find the global minimun of the NN using GD with pytorch.
I believe what I’m trying to do must have been done a thousand times before, if not ten thousand times.

Have a look at this example here:

https://pytorch.org/tutorials/beginner/pytorch_with_examples.html#pytorch-tensors-and-autograd

It is updating the parameters manually in the step

with torch.no_grad():
    w1 -= learning_rate * w1.grad
    w2 -= learning_rate * w2.grad

to minimize the loss function, but you can also use the SGD optimizer, which is explained here: torch.optim — PyTorch 2.1 documentation

If you want to do GD specifically, not SGD, then each batch would basically be your entire training set (if you can fit it into memory). Otherwise, just accumulate the error before you do the manual update

1 Like

thank you very much !
I have changed the code you sent me so as to fit my problem.
my problem is not to train the net parameters, as in the code you sent, but rather to “train” the input.
in other words, after having trained my net, I want to find the input that will give maximum output.

the chages I did are as follows:

1. I added ‘requires grad’ to the input
  2. I changed the loss to be ‘-output’ (the output with minus sign) because I’m looking the maximum output