How reduce number of classes in faster rcnn

Hi,

I am new in the field of object detection, I will be grateful if you could help me to reduce the number of detected objects in a pre-trained model that is trained on the coco dataset. I want only to detect “person” and “dog”.

I am using fasterrcnn_resnet50_fpn model:

#load mode
model = torchvision.models.detection.fasterrcnn_resnet50_fpn(pretrained=True)

I am not sure who should I modify the model to only detect class 1 (person) and class 18 (dog). I do not want to train the model on new data.

I will appreciate it if you can help me with this problem.
Thank you

In the call you can just set num_classes to whatever you want. If you go in the docs here it shows you how to do this as well as other things.

Keep in mind that if you want to use the coco-pretrained backbone and rpn, and then train with a new ROI head (for different class structure), you can simply take the backbone and rpn, and use those to initialize a new faster r-cnn module by passing in the backbone and rpn as arguments to faster-rcnn in torchvision.

Hi @Dwight_Foster ,

thank you for your reply. But how can specify that I am only interested in class 1 (person) & class 18 (dog)? I do not want to train again the fasterrcnn_resnet50_fpn model. I want that the model only detects my wished classes and ingnores other 88 classes.

I tried to set the num_classes to 3 but get an error.
My code:

coco_names = ['__background__', 'person', 'dog']

model = torchvision.models.detection.fasterrcnn_resnet50_fpn(pretrained=True, num_classes=len(coco_names))

device = torch.device('cuda' if torch.cuda.is_available() else 'cpu')
model.eval().to(device)

path='Downloads/input2/test.jpg'
image = Image.open(path)

boxes, classes, labels = detect_utils.predict(image, model, device, 0.8)
image =detect_utils.draw_boxes(boxes, classes, labels, image)
#cv2.imshow('Image', image)
save_name = f"{path.split('/')[-1].split('.')[0]}"