How to optimize model by combining multi-task losses

Hi, I am new to pytorch and not quite sure if I am doing right. Please tell me whether the following is right or wrong.

What I am doing:
I am training a GAN. But the generator is a model that learn regression from some prepared input (not random noise). Let’s say we have two model blocks: generator (G) and discriminator (D), and three losses: GAN loss for discriminator (d_loss), GAN loss for generator (g_loss), and regression loss for generator (mse_loss). I would like to update G by combining g_loss and mse_loss.

My question:
It is straightforward to optimize D model, which use GAN loss for discriminator. However, I am not quite sure whether I am doing right. My code is like:

input = ...
regress_label = ...
G = generator()
D = discriminator()
D_optimizer = torch.optim.Adam(D.parameters())
G_optimizer = torch.optim.Adam(G.parameters())
# train G part
g_out = G(input)
d_g_out = D(g_out)
g_loss = loss(d_g_out, tell_D_real)
mse_loss = mse(g_out, regress_label)
# combine GAN loss and regression
total_g_loss = mse_loss + g_loss     # can I just sum them up ???
total_g_loss.backward()
G_optimizer.step()    # update G only relying on optimizer ???

Thank you very much !

The code looks correct. Note that lotal_g_loss.backward() would also calculate the gradients for D (if you haven’t set all requires_grad attributes to False), so you would need to call D.zero_grad() before updating it.

@ptrblck Thank you very much!

I am thinking different architecture of multi-task network should have different BP approach. Here are 2 conditions:

Condition 1:
G(encoder → decoder) → loss_G
G(encoder → decoder) → D → loss_D
In this condition, we should sum loss_G and loss_D up and do BP to update G.

Condition 2:
G(encoder → decoder) → loss_G
G(encoder) → G(decoder) → loss_G
|_____> D - >loss_D