How to save output of a layer during training

Hi, here again,

I have a question, say in my training code, I want to save the output of a module or layer for use in another layer (while training), ensuring the output of the said layer or module does not change during training- how do I do that? Do I define it in the forward pass? in the code below say I want to use the output at D, do I save the output or call self.block4 again? Apologies if this question is stupid I am just learning. Thank you!

class block1(nn.Module):
class block2(nn.Module):
class block3(nn.Module):
class block4(nn.Module):

class exped (nn.Module):

class RDCDH (nn.Module):
    def __init__(self):
        super (RDCDH, self).__init__ ()
        self.conv = conv
        self.block1 = block1
        self.block2 = block2
        self.block3 = block1
        self.block4 = block1
        self.trans = exped

def forward(self, x):
        out = self.conv (x)
        out = self.block1(out, before_Trans=False) #A
        out = self.block2 (out, before_trans=False) #B
        out = self.block3 (out, before_Trans=False) #C
        out = self.block4(out, before_trans  = False) #D
        out = self.upsam_trans(out) #P
        out = self.block4(out, before_trans = True)#Q
        out  = self.trans(out)
        return out

Many thanks.

Sorry, can you please clarify what you mean? When you say ‘save the output of a module or layer for use in another layer’, do you mean save it and use it within the same model? If so, you can just save it in forward as you say. Just call it something else other than out and then use it later on. So in your example, I changed it to be out_D. And then wherever else you need to use that output, you can just pass that in. PyTorch will take care of the rest, during training and inference.

1 Like

Hi Karthik,

Thank you for your response.