How to tailor a lstm-nn to react to exogenous variables?

I’m an undergraduate student doing my research project.
I’m not a native English speaker, so apologies for my weird grammar and vocabulary.

My research topic is wind power prediction using an LSTM-NN and its application in power trading.
As wind power sellers, we care not only about the forecast accuracy but also about the power price. I want to design a flexible predictor which will react to the fluctuation of power price. That is to say, a not-very-accurate forecast is acceptable while the power price is low otherwise a more correct forecast will be expected.

In order to achieve that goal, I have done the following:
1. Weight the loss function. While training, I multiplied the squared error directly by the power price. Therefore, when the price is high the loss function correspondingly becomes stricter. My customized loss function is like this:

def weighted_mse_loss(input, target, weight):
    return (weight * (input - target) ** 2)

where the input, target, and weight denote the predicted value, actual value, and power price respectively.
And this simple and intuitive method gained good performance. The RMSE indeed became lower when the power price was high, compared to the case where the loss function was not weighted.
But I feel rather confused by its surprisingly excellent performance because I didn’t teach the predictor when a stricter loss function would apply and when it would not. In this approach, I predicted the wind power production based on the past observed power production alone, so the predictor shouldn’t have known when a loss function with a larger weight will apply.

So I tried another method.