How to train images in batches of fixed size to avoid RuntimeError: CuDNN error: CUDNN_STATUS_EXECUTION_FAILED error?

This is a very basic level question meanwhile hard for me to collect examples on Web to figure this out:

My code above fails because I am passing all of the 863 images (1 left for test purpose as in Leave-One-Out Cross-Validation). Actually, am I correct? I got CUDA ran out of memory error so I assumed that is the reason.

How can I fix this situation by batching the data and passing it to the training? Can you please provide a starter code or so? I am quite new to PyTorch and still very baffled with all the new syntaxes.
The commented section of code that uses enumerate(dataloader), passes only 1 train example to train_model method. How can I pass like 20 at a time? What do you suggest as a number to pass? (I know it is a hyper-parameter but what is a rule-of-the-thumb formula for so?

I have two 1080Ti GPU with 12GB memory and 64GB memory on my machine.

P.S.: Same code actually works, if I only have 50 images and pass 49 of them to the train_model method while having only two classes: https://gist.github.com/monajalal/0ea50727eb57b35a6ea3a6f9ff4415f1

You are already using a batch size of 1 in your DataLoader, so that you can’t lower it further.
If your model uses nn.BatchNorm layers, I would set the batch size to at least 16.

Are you sure your error CUDNN_STATUS_EXECUTION_FAILED is caused by running out of memory?
Could you check the memory of your cards with nvidia-smi while the code is running?
It would be strange, since you are only using a batch size of only 1 and the code was working before.

Also, you can add with torch.no_grad(): before the test sample evaluation so avoid storing the intermediate tensors.

This is output of nvidia-smi right after I get the error:

It was working before because dataloader only had 49 samples in it. Now it has 863 samples in it.
Complete error log:

Using sample 0 as test data
Resetting model
Epoch 0/24