Is a data point a row vector or column vector?

I’m new to neural networks and pytorch.

I want to construct a neural network that takes an m-dim vector and outputs an n-dim vector. I have 100 training data. To prepare my dataset, shall I make an array/tensor of dimension 100 by m or m by 100 for pytorch? In other words, I want to know whether pytorch takes one data point as a row vector or a column vector. This corresponds to whether the function xW+b or Wx+b is used in each neuron, I guess.

1 Like

The input to nn.Linear is expected to be [batch_size, features] (or [batch_size, *, features] for more advanced use cases), so your number of samples should be stored in dim0.

In case you are building your network from scratch (i.e. not using torch.nn), a way verify how to represent training examples would be by doing a vectorized vs non-vectorized calculation of loss and loss gradients. The code below indicates that representing training examples in the columns of an input tensor, in conjunction with a Wx+b activation calculation, works ok.

"""
Feed forward neural network with 2 inputs and 1 output.Single hidden layer with 3 neurons, tanh activation, no bias.
"""

import torch
import numpy as np

def forward(Weights1, Weights2, X):

"""
    Forward fuction for output from NN. 
    """
    inp = torch.as_tensor(X, dtype=torch.float)
    a1 = torch.tanh(torch.mm(Weights1, inp))  
    a2 = torch.mm(Weights2, a1)    

return a2

#Random initialize layer weight matrices for hidden and output layers

W1 = torch.rand(3, 2, dtype=torch.float, requires_grad=True) 
W2 = torch.rand(1, 3, dtype=torch.float, requires_grad=True)

# Define the Training Inputs: Features and Labels for m=3 training examples and 2 input features each. 

m = 3

X = torch.tensor([[1,2,3],[0.1,0.2,0.3]])
Y = torch.tensor([[3,6,9]])

"""
Vectorized calculation: Pass X as 2X3 tensor to the forward function. Calculate loss for the batch. Backprop the loss 
to calculate gradients wrt weights for the batch.