Leaf variable has been moved into the graph interior in model definition

Hello,

I am new to pytorch (I’m using 1.6.0), and I know that this topic or similar has a number of entries, but after studying them I can’t yet see the problem with my code, and would appreciate help with this. I define the following model:

import torch

“”" Model definition “”"

class NNModel( torch.nn.Module ):

def __init__( self, nFeatures, nNeurons ):

"""
    The model consists of two hidden layers with tanh activation and a single neuron output 
    from the third layer. The input to the first layer is a tensor containing the input features
    (nFeatures); the output of the third layer is a single number.
    """

super( NNModel, self).__init__()

self.linear1 = torch.nn.Linear( nFeatures, nNeurons ) 
    self.activn1 = torch.nn.Tanh()
    self.linear2 = torch.nn.Linear( nNeurons, 1 ) 
    self.activn2 = torch.nn.Tanh()

def forward( self, x ):

"""
    x is a tensor containing all symmetry functions for the present configuration; therefore 
    it has dimensions (nObservations, nFeatures). The model must loop over each observation, 
    calculating the contribution of each one to the output (the sum of them).
    """

nObservations, _ = x.shape

z = torch.zeros( nObservations, requires_grad = True )

for n in range( nObservations ):

y = self.linear1( x[n,:] )
        y = self.activn1( y )
        y = self.linear2( y )
        z[n] = self.activn2( y )

addition = z.sum()

return addition

My loss functions and optimizer are:

lossFunction = torch.nn.MSELoss( reduction = ‘sum’ )

optimizer = torch.optim.SGD( model.parameters(), lr=1.0e-4 )

and I run this in a loop like so:

for t in range( 500 ):

# forward pass

for n in range( nCases ):

y_pred[n] = model( sym[n] )

# compute and print loss

loss = lossFunction( y_pred, energy )

print( t, loss.item() )

# zero gradients, perform a backward pass and update weights

optimizer.zero_grad()
loss.backward( )
optimizer.step()