Linear CPU RAM usage increase with each minibatch?

Hi I am new to Pytorch (and ML and NN). I need some general guidance.
I have a basic question that I could not find a straight answer for anywhere.

In an ideal case, should CPU RAM usage be increasing with each mini-batch? To give numbers: train_data size is ~6 million. min-batch size=128.
My ram started at like 5% when epoch started and i am at 23000th training step, and it has gone up to 60%. The increase seems linear in number of mini-batches. (about 2.5% increase with each 1000 mini batches)
However once epoch ends, RAM usage comes back down again. But why should it increase by each min-batch? I dont see it.

For context i am running training on a gpu machine and the flow is something like this:

model=mymodel( parameters) #initialize nn model 
model.to("cuda:0")
train_dataloader=CustomDataloader(train_features)
for epoch in range(n_epochs):
     steps=0
     for X,y in train_dataloader():
           steps+=1
           if steps%1000==0:
              gc.collect()      # i added this line to see if it makes a difference, it didnt.
           X.todevice("cuda:0") 
          #X is actually a custom object which has both tensor data
          # but also some meta data. ".todevice" is a method that send tensors to cuda but doesnt 
          #touch meta data.  Can the problem lie here? it still does not explain why RAM usage 
          #should increase with each minibatch
           y.to("cuda:0" ) 
           yhat=model(X)
           criterion = torch.nn.BCEWithLogitsLoss(weight=weight).to("cuda:0")

loss=criterion(logit,target.to(torch.float32))
            train_losses.append(loss)
            optimizer.zero_grad()
            loss.backward()
            optimizer.step()
            optimizer.zero_grad()

Please not the comment after X.todevice(“cuda:0”).
The dataloader is custom as well

class CustomDataLoader():
    def __init__(self,ds,bs):
        self.ds,self.bs=ds,bs
    def __iter__(self):