Loading model state stops working after nesting modules

I had successfully staggered model training, saving state after every epoch using the standard PyTorch method (saving state_dict, optimizer state and so on to a dictionary and serializing), for separate Encoder and Decoder objects.

However, when incorporating these separate objects as layers in an aggregate ‘Model’ object, and trying to save and load its state after a stretch of training, my loss figures in the next epoch go back to as though I started training from scratch.

I am doing everything as before except that I have nested PyTorch modules, and train the model which initialises and incorporates the encoder and decoder.

Am I incorrect in thinking I should be able to nest modules in this way and save/load the state of the module which contains the others to resume training?

What’s especially odd is that training is working with this setup, but just won’t resume.

can you give a code snippet of your main model to know how are you nesting the models? Whether as instance variables or using nn.ModuleList etc?

Hi Arul, sure can:

class Model(nn.Module):
  def __init__(self, word_dim, annotation_dim, attention_dim, hidden_dim, context_dim, vocab_size=111):
    super(Model, self).__init__()

#Variables
    self.word_dim = word_dim
    self.annotation_dim = annotation_dim
    self.attention_dim = attention_dim
    self.hidden_dim = hidden_dim
    self.context_dim = context_dim
    self.vocab_size = vocab_size

#Components
    self.encoder = Encoder().to(device) #FCN encoder
    self.decoder = Decoder(word_dim=self.word_dim, annotation_dim=self.annotation_dim, 
                           attention_dim=self.attention_dim, hidden_dim=self.hidden_dim, 
                           context_dim=self.context_dim, vocab_size=self.vocab_size).to(device) #Decoder with custom Attention model and GRU

def forward(self, image_batch, label):

#fcn_output is raw output for attention visualization