LSTM doesn't train

Hello everybody,

I learned Keras and now i will learn PyTorch, I am a beginner. I tried to use a LSTM (both in keras and PyTorch), and the one of PyTorch doesn’t train. I know approximately how the loss and the accuracy must be with Keras, and here, they doesn’t change during the epoch. So i did the assumption that my PyTorch code is not good. I juste want to use one LSTM layer with 256 filters and one linear layer.
This is my PyTorch code :

I want to do some classifications, I have 3 classes, and the data are 1D time series with 17908 values. In the train, there are 14001 time series. The shape of the matrix is 14001x17908.

Thanks for your help :smile: :grin:

Based on your description and this code:

X_valid=np.reshape(X_valid, (X_valid.shape[0], 1,X_valid.shape[1]))
X_train=np.reshape(X_train, (X_train.shape[0],1,X_train.shape[1]))  

as well as the usage of batch_first=True in the nn.LSTM module the input data should have a shape of [batch_size=14001, seq_len=1, nb_features=17908].
If that’s correct, note that you would only be using a single time step so that the nn.LSTM module might not be really useful.
Could you explain the approach you’ve used in Keras/TF, i.e. which shapes (in particular sequence lengths) were used there?

PS: unrelated to this issue, but it seems you would like to transform the numpy arrays to tensors here:

X_train, X_valid = [torch.tensor(arr, dtype=torch.float32) for arr in (X_train, X_valid)]
y_train, y_valid = [torch.tensor(arr, dtype=torch.long) for arr in (target_train, target_valid)]

If so, you could use:

X_train = torch.from_numpy(X_train).float()
X_valid = ...
y_train = torch.from_numpy(y_train).long()
y_valid = ...

thanks for your answer :grin: !!

The keras approch I used :

i think i use the same sequence lengths…

thanks !!

thanks for the advice for the tensors transformation :slight_smile: