Memory Error while trying to save resnet features to a dictionary

I’m fairly new to PyTorch and I’m trying to extract the features of my training data using a ResNet101 and save them to a dictionary. I will then intend to use this dictionary as a lookup table for another model.

However, I keep running into memory problems after only processing 8 images on a 12GB GPU machine. The for loop is:

splits = ['train2014', 'val2014', 'test2015']
for split in splits:
    RES_FILE = os.path.join(D_ROOT, 'BaselineTraining', split, 'baseline_{}_cnn_features.pth'.format(split))
    IMAGE_DIR = os.path.join(D_ROOT, 'Images', 'mscoco', split)
    images = os.listdir(IMAGE_DIR)
    images_path = [os.path.join(IMAGE_DIR, file) for file in images]
    res = torch.load(RES_FILE) if os.path.exists(RES_FILE) else {}
    for i in progressbar.progressbar(range(len(images))):
        #Checkpoint every 2,500 images
        if i % 2500 == 0 and i > 0:
            torch.save(res, RES_FILE)
        image_name, image = images[i], cv2.imread(images_path[i])
        if image_name in res:
            continue
        image = process_image(image)
        image = np.expand_dims(image, axis=0)
        image = torch.from_numpy(image)
        _, H, W, C = list(image.size())
        image = image.view(1, C, H, W)
        image = image.float()
        image = image.cuda()
        out = resnet101.forward(image)
       #res[image_name] = out.cpu()
    print('Successfully processed {}.'.format(split))
print('Successfully processed all images.')

Also, I have noticed that the problem only persists when I uncomment the commented line. Without it, extraction goes smoothly. What is happening here?

Hi,

What happens is that you seem to run this code with the autograd enabled.