Multi-class Multi-label image segmentation for beginners

So I’m a self-admitted noob but with computer vision it looks like I dived straight into the deep end and I think I touched bottom

I started a couple of weeks ago with lobe.ai but quickly realized I needed way more. I moved to detectron2 and just got that working last night (using mask-rcnn to generate image segmentation masks) but I realized again that I need a little more.

Since it looks like detectron2 leans on pytorch, I figured Id ask here to

Is there a model out there that can do multi-label image segmentation? If there isnt is there a way to take mask-rcnn and change its classification layers to return multiple classes per mask region?

I could build and run multiple trained models side by side (like where I started with lobe) but the detectron2 models are kinda chunky and I dont want to load a few gigs of models to generate output

I know I’m asking questions way over my head, be gentle :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

Hi Andrew!

In short: Yes, you can perform multi-label, multi-class image segmentation,
and image-segmentation architectures can relatively easily be modified to
do so (or already do so).

Let me draw a distinction between instance segmentation (which is what
Mask R-CNN does), the easier problem of semantic segmentation (such
as performed by U-Net), and object detection (which is “simpler” in that
it doesn’t assign specific pixels to specific classes or instances).

In instance segmentation, you assign each pixel to a specific instance of
an object of a given class. Thus, you might say that this pixel belongs to
the second person in the image and that pixel belongs to the third dog in
the image. So instance segmentation can naturally be multi-class (that
is person vs. dog vs. pelican). But it is less naturally multi-label. That is,
a given pixel would not typically be assigned to more than one class (not
both a person and a dog). (I could imagine inventing such a use case, but