Need some good resources to learn how to make custom vocab

Hi, torch friends.
I am a novice in this nlp things. I want to start with making my own vocab using my data.
The problem is about OOV(out of vocabulary). I really hard to find an answer.
To concrete my question, I use an example. (I may be wrong)

id tweets
0 sentence 1
1 sentence 2
2 sentence 3

Let’s say I’ve created a vocab with only sentence1 and 2.
what if there are new words in sentence 3?
Then, How can I update my prior vocab?

I would also appreciate it if let me know what tokenizer is best for a torch user and links for studying. (torchtext, gensim, nltk etc.)
:pray:

It would be unusual to tokenize entire sentences. Usually, tokens represent words, ngrams, characters or sentencepiece. Examples:

Words
[The, brown, fox, jumps, over, the lazy, dog, .]

Ngrams
[th, e, br, own, f, ox, j, ump, s, o, ver, th, e, la, zy, d, og, .]
Results may vary by text, and is determined algorithmically.

Chars
[t, h, e, _, b, …]

Sentencepiece
[The, brown fox, jumps over, the, lazy dog, .]

With that said, I prefer using words or ngrams.

A lot of people make use of pre-trained embeddings/tokenizers. However, if you go this route, just be careful which one you use because most are excessively large and uncurated. For example, GLoVe pretrained (put out by Google) has website links and spam gibberish as part of the encoding set.

I use generate_sp_model() from here:

https://pytorch.org/text/stable/data_functional.html

That creates two files, one which is a .vocab file and has all of the vocab in it, and can be opened and read with utf-8 encoding. Then I use that with build_vocab_from_iterator here:

https://pytorch.org/text/stable/vocab.html

With word tokens, 20,000 words will usually cover 99.5% of all vocab and punctuation.

With ngrams, you can get more coverage with less.

1 Like

Yes, what I meant was words token in the sentences!!
Thx for the usecases and links!!
:+1: