[Newbie] PyTorch equivalent of TF tf.gradients(out,in)

Hi, I’m just learning about PyTorch because I need to migrate my TF 1.x code in order to be able to use adv robustness evaluation libraries. I found the process pretty painless so far, but I’m having problems understanding the difference between the TensorFlow function tf.gradients which computes the gradient vectors of a variable out with respect to a variable in, and the torch.autograd.grad function, which seems to work on scalars only instead. I’ve read other similar entries on this website but I couldn’t find relevant examples to my problem so here I am.

Going into specifics, I need to migrate the following function written in TF 1.x to PyTorch:

def cross_lipschitz(f, x, batch_size=100, z_dim=10):
reg = 0
grad_matrix_list = [tf.gradients(f[:, k], x)[0] for k in range(z_dim)]
for l in range(z_dim):
for m in range(l + 1, z_dim):
grad_diff_matrix = grad_matrix_list[l] - grad_matrix_list[m]
norm_for_batch = tf.norm(grad_diff_matrix, ord=2, axis=1)
reg += tf.reduce_sum(tf.square(norm_for_batch))
return reg

Can you help me out in understanding how to replace tf.gradients with torch.autograd.grad in this particular situation? I also apologize for the wrong code formatting, it’s not clear to me how to do indendation in the forum text editor.

Hi Andrea!

torch.autograd.grad isn’t restricted to only scalar outputs, you just need to modify the grad_outputs argument of torch.autograd.grad. So, let’s say you have a function which is N-dimensional input and an M-dimensional output and a batch size of 100. You just need to add torch.ones_like(Y) as your 3rd argument to torch.autograd.grad

B=100
N=4
M=6

X = torch.randn(B, N, requires_grad=True)
fc = torch.nn.Linear(N,M) #our R^N -> R^M function 

Y = fc(X)

dYdX = torch.autograd.grad(Y, X, torch.ones_like(Y)) #gradient of the function
#returns torch.Size([100, 4])