Optimizing custom RNN implementation

Hi,

I’m currently testing a variant of the LSTM architecture called subLSTM. I was trying to get an efficient implementation to speed up my tests since my PyTorch implemenation its still very slow compared to the library LSTM. I also tried using TorchScript but its still much slower than the LSTM version. Specifically I used jit.script to compile the inner loop of the RNN (similar to the LSTM implementation). So my questions are:

1. Why does this not make it work as fast? Is it a problem with the way I’m using jit.script?
  2. I was trying to access the RNN implementations in _C._VariableFunctions, but I can’t see it. Is there any way of modifying that code? The modifications I need are trivial, and while I could implement it myself I may not get such an efficient code since I am not that experienced with CUDA (and my C++ is pretty rusty).

Here is a link to my code:

Thanks,

You could take the LLTM from the C+±extension tutorial as a blueprint. That should give very similar speedups as basing your work on the native code.
That said, in our own benchmarking JITed vanilla LSTM almost as fast as cudnn for the forward and roughly the same speed as PyTorch’s own C++ implementation for the backward (but slower by a factor of 2.25 than CuDNN) on current master (which is faster in the backward than 1.0 was at 3x).

Best regards

Thomas

1 Like

Thanks for the reply,

I assume the differences in speed are for the LSTM cell, so that doing the processing over longer sequences with the full LSTM architecture will increase the difference, especially during training?

Actually I’m getting my LSTM benchmarking from the PyTorch benchmark repository and optimize against that before submitting patches to PyTorch. That would seem much more useful to me than a somewhat artificial benchmark on cells. As far as I can tell, the default sequence length is 100 and you could pass a parameter if you want to benchmark different sequence lengths.