Overwhelmed by PyTorch and NLP

I’m not sure if this is a suitable forum for seeking general help and advice. I’m new to the field of Applied DL in NLP. I’ve studied basics of DL and implemented CNNs in Keras. I’ve started a project which involves trying out various NN architectures (LSTMs, Bi-LSTM-CNN-CRFs, Transformers-BERT etc.) on news articles data.

However, I’m being overwhelmed by the many architectures to understand and especially the lengthy PyTorch codes. There aren’t many online courses that teach how to implement advanced models in PyTorch and I just can’t make sense of how to use GitHub repos provided in research papers like “Attention is All you Need” or that of BERT (Devlin et al.)

Any help related to this would be highly appreciated. Thanks

Since I’m kind of in the same boat, here is just my personal opinion: At the end of the day, you simple have to bite the bullet. Deep learning and Natural Language Processing are both complex topics on their own and even more so when put together. Here just some pointers based on my personal experience:

• Understand the basics: Many modern architectures simple say that “…we use attention…” like it is a well-established concept. And maybe it is. Still, as a newcomer it’s important to go back to see where attention is coming from. It’s often too easy to simply copy/paste a tutorial or other existing code that does something without really knowing what. I’m certainly guilty of that.