Performance on small model 2000x slower than raw C++ (on CPU)

Hi all, I’ll preface this by saying I am brand new to PyTorch and may be missing something obvious. Thanks in advance for your time.

I’ve been testing the training time of a simple model with basic PyTorch functionality (autograd, SGD). It is about 2000x slower than a comparable training run written in raw C++ (without PyTorch). I understand that PyTorch creates and manages dynamic computational graphs, so I would expect it to be slower than raw C++, maybe by a factor of 10 or so–but I am surprised that the difference is so big. Maybe I am doing something silly in my PyTorch code that is hurting the performance. I am very curious to check that my results are correct, and to better understand why PyTorch sees this performance hit on small models.

Additional notes

• I’ve also tried using the C++ PyTorch bindings and have gotten similar speed results.
  • I haven’t put any special effort into optimizing the C++ code.
  • I spent some time trying to isolate the bottleneck. The backward() call takes up the majority of the time, however even if I get rid of this we’re still two orders of magnitude off the C++ code. In particular, it seems that whenever you do an operation on a tensor, there is a large fixed cost of around 3 microseconds (regardless of the size of the tensor). For example, x = 3*t + 4*t + 5*t would take around 10 microseconds if t is a tensor that holds only 1 element.

Here’s the PyTorch script. It runs 100,000 epochs of a linear model with 11 datapoints in each epoch, and takes 18 seconds.

import torch
import time

# Training data. t_u are inputs, t_c are target outputs
t_u = [35.7, 55.9, 58.2, 81.9, 56.3, 48.9, 33.9, 21.8, 48.4, 60.4, 68.4]
t_c = [0.5, 14.0, 15.0, 28.0, 11.0, 8.0, 3.0, -4.0, 6.0, 13.0, 21.0]
t_u = torch.tensor(t_u)
t_c = torch.tensor(t_c)

def training_loop(n_epochs, learning_rate, w, b, t_u, t_c):
    for epoch in range(n_epochs):
        if w.grad is not None: