Pytorch 2.0 is not a "stable" version

Hey, first of all, I am grateful for this library and that it is open source, I know there is a massive amount of hard work behind this. However, I have to say with the amount of rather critical bugs related to torch.compile this should simply not have been released as a stable version yet. I am currently doing my master’s thesis with pytorch 2.0 and I have spent a large amount of time trying to debug errors that turned out to be related to the new torch.compile feature. One of the bugs was so bad that it put the whole A100 GPU (which I am using a MiG-Partition of) into an Error mode and repeadetly crashed the training runs of other students and researches using different partitions of the GPU.

So, again, I am a big fan, but I really think a project this widely used by this many people, institutions and companies should be a bit more conservative with the version labeling

Hi @Timo_D can you please share which bugs you’re referring to? Either scripts or logs would be helpful to debug further

Hi, thank you, I am planning to post a github issue with more details at some point for the major bug that I mentioned, but here is an exerpt of the exception if you are interested:

def forward(self, x):
  File "/home/s334978/miniconda3/envs/ma/lib/python3.10/site-packages/torch/_dynamo/eval_frame.py", line 209, in _fn
    return fn(*args, **kwargs)
  File "/home/s334978/miniconda3/envs/ma/lib/python3.10/site-packages/torch/_functorch/aot_autograd.py", line 2819, in forward
    return compiled_fn(full_args)
  File "/home/s334978/miniconda3/envs/ma/lib/python3.10/site-packages/torch/_functorch/aot_autograd.py", line 1222, in g
    return f(*args)
  File "/home/s334978/miniconda3/envs/ma/lib/python3.10/site-packages/torch/_functorch/aot_autograd.py", line 2386, in debug_compiled_function
    return compiled_function(*args)