PyTorch Distributed Data Parallel Process 0 terminated with SIGKILL

Hello,
I am relatively new to PyTorch Distributed Parallel and I have access to GPU nodes with Infiniband so I think I can use the NCCL Backend. I am using Slurm scripts to submit my jobs on these resources. The following is an example of a SLURM script that I am using to submit a job. NOTE HERE that I am using OpenMPI to launch multiple instances of my docker container on the different nodes in the job. The docker container that I am using for this job is linked here.

SLURM FILE
#!/bin/sh
#SBATCH --ntasks-per-node=2
#SBATCH --time=168:00:00
#SBATCH --partition=gpu
#SBATCH --mem=80gb
#SBATCH --nodes=2
#SBATCH --gres=gpu:2
#SBATCH --constraint=gpu_32gb
#SBATCH --job-name=binary_classification
#SBATCH --output=binary_classification.out

pwd; hostname; date
env | grep SLURM | sort

ulimit -s unlimited
ulimit -c unlimited

export PYTHONPATH=$WORK/tf-gpu-pkgs

module purge
module load singularity compiler/gcc/4.8 openmpi
module list

mpirun singularity exec $WORK/pyopencv.sif python3 -u $@ --multiprocessing_distributed --dist_backend='nccl' --rank=0 --use_adam=1 --benchmarks=1 --benchmark_arch='vgg19' --batch_size=128 --test=1 --transfer=0 --dataset='binary_dataset'
cgget -r memory.max_usage_in_bytes /slurm/uid_${UID}/job_${SLURM_JOBID}/
mem_report

When I run the job, I get the following error and I am not sure what is exactly causing this issue. My implementation is similar to the ImageNet example on PyTorch distributed. I have not been able to make this work for weeks now and would really appreciate any help on this since I don’t have much experience with distributed systems.

ERROR RECEIVED

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "distributed_main.py", line 391, in <module>
    main()
  File "distributed_main.py", line 138, in main
    args=(ngpus_per_node, args))
  File "/usr/local/lib/python3.5/dist-packages/torch/multiprocessing/spawn.py", line 171, in spawn