PyTorch Docker does not detect my GPU

Hello PyTorchers

I am using the latest PyTorch docker container inside PyCharm Pro 2021.1.
And I transformed the quickstart tutorial notebook into a python script, and it trains the Fashion MNIST stuff like a charm in that environment :slight_smile:
Unfortunately the function torch.cuda.is_available() tells that there is no GPU support and runs on slow CPU instead.
I am new to docker, so please bare with me if my questions seems stupid or my trials are doomed to fail.

I googled for that and found out that I should use “–gpus all” in my Debug Configuration \ Docker container settings.
But when I do that the containers fails to start with the error:
“Error running ‘quickstart_tutorial’: Cannot run the remote Python interpreter: OCI runtime create failed: container_linux.go:367: starting container process caused: process_linux.go:495: container init caused: Running hook #0:: error running hook: exit status 1, stdout: , stderr: nvidia-container-cli: initialization error: driver error: failed to process request: unknown”

I also saw some solutions telling me to change /etc/docker/daemon.json.
Well, I have no clue where to do this change (I run Windows 10, so I do not have /etc/… on my system!?) and noone in these solutions ever bothers to explain.

I also tried adding “–runtime nvidia” to the docker settings, but that fails with:
“Error running ‘quickstart_tutorial’: Cannot run the remote Python interpreter: Unknown runtime specified nvidia”

Finally I tried the pytorch/pytorch:1.6.0-cuda10.1-cudnn7-runtime docker container instead of pytorch:pytorch:latest.
It fits to my CUDA 10.1 and CUDNN 7.6 install, which I derived both from C:\Program Files\NVIDIA GPU Computing Toolkit\CUDA\v10.1\include\cudnn.h
But this did not change anything, I still see the same errors as above.

I would like to avoid upgrading my CUDA version, since I had a really hard time to get it running the last time.