Pytorch nested nn modules

Hi everyone!

I’m new to PyTorch and I have a problem regarding nested PyTorch nn modules. The problem as follows.

I have a main nn model lets say model A. Which in turn uses two objects created from another nn class inside a for loop that contains lstm cells(single-cell).

First, the autograd complains that the graphs need to be retained because backward is going through multiple times over and over. After making retain_graph = True it gives the following error.**

**RuntimeError: one of the variables needed for gradient computation has been modified by an inplace operation: [torch.cuda.FloatTensor [2048]] is at version 2; expected version 1 instead. **

By the way, it does the first forward pass successfully. It would be greatly helpful if one of you guys could show me a consistent way to implement a subset of neural agent objects inside a for loop in the main nn.module class .

class ModelA(nn.Module):
   def __init__():
      super(ModelA, self).__init__()
      self.agent1 = Agent(#initialising parameters)
      self.agent2 = Agent(#initialising parrameters)
      out1 = torch.zeros(#required dimension)
      out2 = torch.zeros(#required dimension)

def forward(self, inputs):
      for i in range(25):
         out1 = self.agent1(out2, #for loop ends = false)
         out2 = self.agent2(out1, #for loop ends = false)
      y1 = self.agent1(out2, # for loop ends = True)
      x1 = self.agent2(out1, # for loop ends = True)
      return x1, y1

class Agent(nn.Module):
    def __init__():
    super(Agent, self).__init__()
    # initialize all the layers and recurrent cells here

def forward(#inputs, #whether for loop ends)
       if for_loop_ends = True
          return #result1.
       else:
          return #result2

Hi,