Question about fine tuning a fcn_resnet101 model with 2 classes

I want to fine tune the pre-trained fcn resnet segmentation model with my own data set which only contains two classes.

I am following this tutorial, but I want to understand how the code knows which 2 classes I am referring to? So lets say my custom data set contains images with only two classes, background and car for example, when I set num_classes = 2, how does the code know that I’m specifically referring to background and car, instead of any of the other 20 classes it was originally trained on like cat, dog, horse, bicycle, etc?

Can it just tell by the specific color in the masked images? Or does it have to be specified somewhere in the code when fine tuning?

I am new to pytorch and machine learning so I would like to gain a better understanding of this so I can finetune the fcn resnet model correctly.

1 Like

Basically resnet is trained in imagenet dataset. while doing transfer learning you’re freezing the last couple of layers and using your dataset to train on that model.

Thanks so much for your response. So basically you are saying that there is no need to specify which two classes you are referring to right?

yeah. If you have any doubt in the future message me.

As can be seen in the tutorial num_classes is used to initialize a new linear layer, which acts as the classification layer.
The output activations will provide num_classes outputs, which represent the logit for each class, i.e. output[0] would be the logit for class0.

If you define your Dataset, you would have to make sure that each sample is mapped to a valid class index.

E.g. in your use case with num_classes = 2, your target should contain the values 0 and 1.
The mapping between these class indices and the meaning is made by you.
I.e. if you only care about the background and car class, you would have to make sure the you are only using samples containing these two classes.