Question about quantization tutorial and fusing model

Hi, I am new to Deep Learning and Pytorch. I am interested in quantization and have gone through the Transfer learning and Post Training Static Quantization tutorial. However, there are a few questions that i hope to get some idea from the community.

For Transfer learning:

• I noticed that the quantized model implements a custom head, for fine tuning purpose. However, since the model is restructured due to the

from torch import nn

def create_combined_model(model_fe):

Step 1. Isolate the feature extractor.

model_fe_features = nn.Sequential(
model_fe.quant, # Quantize the input
model_fe.conv1,
model_fe.bn1,
model_fe.relu,
model_fe.maxpool,
model_fe.layer1,
model_fe.layer2,
model_fe.layer3,
model_fe.layer4,
model_fe.avgpool,
model_fe.dequant, # Dequantize the output
)

Step 2. Create a new “head”

new_head = nn.Sequential(
nn.Dropout(p=0.5),
nn.Linear(num_ftrs, 2),
)

Step 3. Combine, and don’t forget the quant stubs.

new_model = nn.Sequential(
model_fe_features,
nn.Flatten(1),
new_head,
)
return new_model

• Why is there no new forward() defined for it? Can the forward() recognize the new network layout for the model automatically?

For Post Training Static Quantization:

• I noticed that the tutorial transforms the pretrained model to quantized model by merging the intermediate operations such as nn.Conv2d(), nn.ReLU() and nn.BatchNorm2d(), into ConvBnReLU2d() . I know that the guideline in Quantization, suggests to perform operation fusing whenever quantizing a model. But is it possible to implement each quantized modules independently without fusing all of them as one? As i believe i have seen the quantization implementation of nn.quantized.Conv2d(), nn.quantized.ReLU(). (Although there is no nn.quantized.BatchNorm2d() yet).