[resolved] Holy memory balloons batman!

Greetings all!

I am fairly new to pytorch, but I have experience running very large models in caffe, keras, theano, and others. My system has 3 GPUs and I am running some tests on my Quadro GP100 at the moment (16.3 GB video ram). I wrote the below model to see how memory behaves in pytorch. Probably should have started smaller. Ah well, go big or go home!

Anyway, The following code crashes as a result of running out of memory on the Quadro (holy crap).

import torch
import torch.nn as nn
import torch.nn.functional as F
import torch.optim as optim
import torch.multiprocessing as mp
from torch.autograd import Variable

import numpy as np
import math
import time
import random

import matplotlib.pyplot as plt

def DimCalcConv2D(Ishape, N, Kshape, Sshape, Pshape):
  Dimx = N

Dimy = int(math.floor((Ishape[0] + 2*Pshape[0] - Kshape[0])/Sshape[0] + 1))
  Dimz = int(math.floor((Ishape[1] + 2*Pshape[1] - Kshape[1])/Sshape[1] + 1))

return (Dimx, Dimy, Dimz)

class Discriminator(nn.Module):
  def __init__(self):
    super(Discriminator,self).__init__()

self.ishape = (1,256,256)

self.conv1 = nn.Conv2d(1, 64, 3, stride=1, padding =0)
    self.conv2 = nn.Conv2d(64,64,3, stride=1, padding=0)
    self.conv3 = nn.Conv2d(64,64,3,stride=1, padding=0)

D1 = DimCalcConv2D((256, 256),64,(3,3),(1,1),(0,0))
    D2 = DimCalcConv2D(D1[1:],64, (3,3),(1,1),(0,0))
    D  = DimCalcConv2D(D2[1:],64, (3,3),(1,1),(0,0))

self.ConvOutShape = D
    N = int(D[0]*D[1]*D[2])

self.linear1 = nn.Linear(N,256)
    self.linear2 = nn.Linear(256,256)
    self.linear3 = nn.Linear(256,2)

self.train()

def forward(self, Image):
    x = F.relu(self.conv1(Image))
    x = F.relu(self.conv2(x))
    x = F.relu(self.conv3(x))

D = self.ConvOutShape
    N = int(D[0]*D[1]*D[2])
    x = x.view(-1,N)

x = F.relu(self.linear1(x))
    x = F.relu(self.linear2(x))
    x = F.relu(self.linear3(x))

return F.softmax(x)

if __name__ == "__main__":

image = np.ones((1,1,256,256))