Running RNNs in parallel on single GPU

First, I have very little experience with jit, so this may be an issue with my knowledge there - but I’ve scoured every resource I can find over the past several days to no avail.

Lets say you have a nn.ModuleList with a collection of RNNs, and you want to process the same data through each. CUDA operations are async - so we do something like this:

self.networks = nn.ModuleList([nn.RNN(input_size=self.feature_count, hidden_size=self.hidden_size) for i in range(self.count_rnn)])
all_results = []
for rnn in self.networks:
    res, _ = rnn(input)
    all_results.append(res)
all_results = torch.stack(all_results, dim=-1)

Although CUDA operations are async, this simple for loop to collect each RNN output increases the iteration loop time linearly as self.count_rnn increases (the length of the ModuleList).

Thus, an additional attempt must be made to try to parallelize the process; so we move to torch.jit.fork. Consider the following implementation:

class ParallelModuleList(nn.ModuleList):
    def __init__(self):
        super(ParallelModuleList, self).__init__()

def forward(self, x):
        futures : List[torch.futures.Future[torch.Tensor]] = []
        for module in self:
            future : torch.futures.Future[torch.Tensor] = torch.jit.fork(module, x)
            futures.append(future)
        output : List[torch.Tensor] = []
        for future in futures:
            output.append(torch.jit.wait(future))
        return output

and used like this

self.networks : nn.ModuleList = torch.jit.script(ParallelModuleList([nn.RNN(input_size=self.feature_count, hidden_size=self.hidden_size) for i in range(self.count_rnn)]))