RuntimeError: CUDA error: out of memory | return input.log_softmax(dim)

Hi,

I started training the following model, using the train_mtl.py:

After I entered training epoch 45 (out of 120), I received the following error:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "train_mtl.py", line 472, in <module>
    main()
  File "train_mtl.py", line 466, in main
    val_loss = test(epoch)
  File "train_mtl.py", line 367, in test
    loss2 = angle_loss(pred_vecmaps, util.to_variable(labels[0], True))
  File "C:\Users\...\road_connectivity-master\venv\lib\site-packages\torch\nn\modules\module.py", line 477, in __call__
    result = self.forward(*input, **kwargs)
  File "C:\Users\...\road_connectivity-master\utils\loss.py", line 15, in forward
    log_p = F.log_softmax(inputs, dim=1)
  File "C:\Users\...\road_connectivity-master\venv\lib\site-packages\torch\nn\functional.py", line 975, in log_softmax
    return input.log_softmax(dim)
RuntimeError: CUDA error: out of memory

I am running PyTorch 0.4.1 on Windows 10 with NVIDIA Quadro P3200 with Max-Q Design.

Any ideas on how to solve this?

Hi @ntelo007,

I think GPU (NVIDIA Quadro P3200) has memory of 6GB and in my training code I used GPU with 12 GB of RAM. So, I suggest you to please lower the batch size (probably half it) to train the code.

Thanks

That means that I should change the batch size to 8 (initial 16) and start training from the beginning right? Is it possible to continue training with the best so far model, using a different batch size?

Hi @ntelo007,

Yes, it is possible to resume the training from the best saved model.

I am confused now, if you were able to train and save the model then I am wondering where OOM issue occurred. Can you post the full logs? Is it happening at testing time?

Thanks

Yes

Which files are you requesting exactly?