RuntimeError on running ALBERT for obtaining encoding vectors from text

I’m trying to get feature vectors from the encoder model using pre-trained ALBERT v2 weights. i have a nvidia 1650ti gpu (4 GB) , and plenty RAM but for some reason I’m getting Runtime error saying -
RuntimeError: [enforce fail at …\c10\core\CPUAllocator.cpp:75] data. DefaultCPUAllocator: not enough memory: you tried to allocate 491520000 bytes. Buy new RAM!

I’m really new to pytorch and deep learning in general. Can anyone please tell me what is wrong?

My entire code -
encoded_test_data = tokenized_test_values[‘input_ids’]
encoded_test_masks = tokenized_test_values[‘attention_mask’]

encoded_train_data = torch.from_numpy(encoded_train_data).to(device)
encoded_masks = torch.from_numpy(encoded_masks).to(device)

encoded_test_data = torch.from_numpy(encoded_test_data).to(device)
encoded_test_masks = torch.from_numpy(encoded_test_masks).to(device)

config = EncoderDecoderConfig.from_encoder_decoder_configs(BertConfig(),BertConfig())
EnD_model = EncoderDecoderModel.from_pretrained(‘albert-base-v2’,config=config)
feature_extractor = EnD_model.get_encoder()
feature_vector = feature_extractor.forward(input_ids=encoded_train_data,attention_mask = encoded_masks)
feature_test_vector = feature_extractor.forward(input_ids = encoded_test_data, attention_mask = encoded_test_masks)

Also 491520000 bytes is about 490 MB which should not be a problem.

How much host RAM does htop or any other tool report?
As the error message suggest, PyTorch cannot allocate the ~500MB of RAM, so I guess you might be indeed running out of memory or the process is not allowed to allocate more RAM for some reason.

Im using windows. I have around 2.8 GB available RAM. Pycharm IDE is using 600 MB. I doubt there is a cap set on the RAM usage.

2.8GB seems to be quite low, since the OS (and other processes) would also use host memory, so the OOM error seems to be valid.