Set model weights to preset tensor with torch

I am attempting to train a torch model with neuro-evolution. I cannot seem to be able to set weights of a model to a preset tensor. I am able to:

Assign weights based on random values,

for param in i.model.parameters():
                param.data = torch.rand(param.data.size())

But i cannot seem to do something like set all the models equal to the fittest model:

for i in self.botList:
            for param in i.model.parameters():
                param.data = self.botList[self.fittest.index].model.parameters():

Where self.botlist is my object array of genomes, and self.botList[self.fittest.index].model.parameters() loads the fittest model parameters.

Any help would be appreciated, this is my first time using torch. Thanks, Preston

EDIT:

I just tried to save and load the model.state_dict()

path = "./dict.pt"
    fittest_dict = torch.save(self.botList[self.fittest.index].model.state_dict(),path)
    self.botList[0].model.load_state_dict(fittest_dict)

It creates a dict.pt file, but always produces a RuntimeError: method 'detach' already has a docstring

In the following line of code:

the left hand side of the equation refers to the weights of one layer, but in the right-hand side refers to all model parameters. I think you would want to put the best model and the current model in a for-loop with zip() function. Assuming that you have two models current_model and best_model, then, the following should work:

for param_cur, param_best in zip(current_model.parameters(), best_model.parameters()):
    param_cur.data = param_best.data
3 Likes

Thank you for your prompt reply.
Your solution was just what i needed. Thank so you much!

Sure, you are welcome! I am glad it worked! :blush: