Slice copy from gpu to cpu tensors

I’m still new to CUDA programming and thought I could write a specific kernel for my application. I have a tensor src which I want to write some of the elements from and copy those values to their corresponding locations in a tensor tgt. Both tensors are 1d, however src is on a gpu and tgt is on CPU memory. I also have access to both the bytemask (torch.BoolTensor) as well as index locations of the elements I want to write to.

I tried using tgt[idxs].copy_(src[idx]), however this fails silently (data isn’t copied to tgt but instead is copied to the new storage of tgt[idxs]), and tgt[idxs] = src[idxs] fails because of different devices.

I have tried writing an at::parallel_for operation for this but it is much slower than I would want, so I am looking to try and write a GPU kernel for this. I know I can access a device-side host pointer with cudaHostGetDevicePointer, however if I’m reading the documentation correctly, this allocates a new host side buffer whereas I already have the host buffer in tgt. Can anyone help me with this?

I have already tried the following kernel which fails due to the tgt buffer being on CPU memory:

template<typename scalar_t>
__global__
void
cuda_mask_copy_kernel(scalar_t*         __restrict__ tgt_1d,
                      const bool*       __restrict__ mask_1d,
                      const scalar_t*   __restrict__ src_1d,
                      size_t N)
{
    const int index = blockIdx.x * blockDim.x + threadIdx.x;

if (index < N && mask_1d[index])
    {
        tgt_1d[index] = src_1d[index];
    }
}

For completeness, here is my at::parallel_for implementation, but as I said, it is much slower than I would wish:

torch::Tensor&
idx_copy(torch::Tensor& tgt,
         const torch::Tensor& idxs,
         const torch::Tensor& src)
{
    TORCH_CHECK(idxs.sizes().size() == 1);
    CHECK_TYPE(idxs, torch::kLong);
    CHECK_SAME_SIZE(tgt, src);
    TORCH_CHECK(tgt.scalar_type() == src.scalar_type());