[SOLVED] Indexed/broadcast subtraction over tensors doesn't work like in numpy

Hi

So I’m pretty new to pytorch and have converted a lot of numpy code over without problem. However, it seems that indexed subtraction doesn’t work in the intuitive way it works on numpy. So this operation where I broadcast some indexes over array1 and subtract arrray2

array1[np.arange(3)][np.arange(10)+np.arange(5,10,1)] -= array2

Does not change array1.

What am doing wrong? Or is this not possible currently in pytorch?

Thanks!

I think the problem occurs due to the successive indexing, which might work on a copy of the tensor.
Could you somehow combine the indexing to just onefor array1?
If you need some help, could you post the shapes of array1 and array2, so that we could have a look?
Currently the second index won’t work, as np.arange(10) and np.arange(5, 10, 1) have different shapes and cannot be summed together.

Hi ptrblck

Ok, here is an example of the sizes:

array1: [3000, 10000]
index1: [369]
index2: [121]
index3: [3, 1]
array2: [369,1,121]

array1[index1][:,index2+index3]-=array2

If I print the left-hand-side and right hand side I get this

array1[index1][:,index2+index3]: torch.Size([369, 3, 121])

and

array2: torch.Size([369, 1, 121])

I should also mention that I tried .sub (and .sub_) and .add (and .add_) without success. And if I convert all these matrices to numpy arrays this broadcast subtraction seem to then work in place as I intended originally.

EDIT: I collapsed index3: to a single value, but the inplace subtraction doesn’t seem to work.

Thanks for the information.
So basically you would like to index twice in dim0?
The first time using index1 and based on this result you would index again in both dimensions using index2+index3?
Is that correct?

Yeah, I should have probably tested this more before I posted, but I’m wondering if any type of in place broadcast subtraction works? Let alone my triple index version.