Starting out with QAT

Hi all, I’m fairly new to model optimization and I’ve tried ONNX PTQ methods. However, I am required to explore QAT for YOLO pytorch models and I’m not sure what to start with.

Should I use Eager Mode or FX Graph Mode Quantization?
Which of them is easier and more general to different models?

Thanks in advance!

What is the difference between using torch.quantization.quantize_qat and following the tutorials available? i.e. fusing modules, adding quant and dequant etc

Hi @MrOCW , eager mode quantization is manual as in you would have to change the modeling code do add quants/dequants and specify fusions. FX graph mode quantization is automatic but it requires the model to be symbolically traceable.

Usually for new models I’d recommend trying FX graph mode quantization first. If the model is not symbolically traceable, then you would have to either make it symbolically traceable (difficulty depends on the model), or use eager mode.

I remember looking at yolov3 a few months ago and that model was challenging to make symbolically traceable.

Guess I’ll work with eager for now since it seems to be more general? just that more work has to be done. However, I am not too sure about where to add the Quant and DeQuant modules? Currently working with a model that has Conv2d-BatchNorm2d-SiLU and since SiLU is not supported… do i fuse conv+bn then add a quant and dequant for every other instance of such module? for e.g. Quant → ConvBn → DeQuant → SiLU ===> Quant → ConvBn → DeQuant → SiLU ===> …

yes, quant/dequant control which areas of the model you want to be in which dtype (torch.float vs torch.quint8).

Quant → ConvBn → DeQuant → SiLU ===> Quant → ConvBn → DeQuant → SiLU

yep, that sounds right. There is some example code here (Quantization — PyTorch 2.1 documentation) with similar toy examples.