[Stupid Question] Why do you have to detach the hidden state of LSTMs, but not the hidden state of a linear network?

I’m an absolute beginner, trying to understand LSTMs.

I’ve read how if you don’t detach the hidden state of an LSTM some graph used for the propagation of gradients gets really big. Why does this not happen with a linear classifier?

I thought LSTMs are unrolled through time and after that are an acyclic computation graph and can be trained as usual, but apparently that’s somehow wrong, how exactly?

Also in the current https://pytorch.org/tutorials/beginner/nlp/sequence_models_tutorial.html they do not seem to do the detaching, at least there is no call to .detach(). What’s going on here? Are they propagating the gradient through the whole sequence?

The hidden state in an LSTM is suppose to serve as “memory”. We start off with an initial hidden state, but this hidden state isn’t suppose to be learned, so we detach it to let the model use those values but to not compute gradients w.r.t.

In the example you linked, it looks like they construct the initial hidden state each time. So there’s no concerns about those parameters being adjusted.

Could you elaborate on what you mean this doesn’t occur with a linear classifier? It could be that there’s a double usage of the word “hidden” which can mean the hidden state of a neural network (so the layers in between) or the hidden state being the memory of an LSTM.

Thank you for your reply.

Could you elaborate on what you mean this doesn’t occur with a linear classifier? It could be that there’s a double usage of the word “hidden” which can mean the hidden state of a neural network (so the layers in between) or the hidden state being the memory of an LSTM.

I was wondering whether a set of weights for example would be connected to two autograd graphs
if it appeared in two forward passes. The answer to my question seems to be that if you do