The role of forward, backward, and update

Hi everyone,
I’m new to PyTorch (and neural network overall). I have some doubts regarding the process of forward, backward, and update. I have read the tutorial and tried searching topics in the forums but still a bit confused, I’m sorry if it turns out this has been asked before.
So, from what I know, PyTorch calculates (and saves) the gradient of a tensor after a backward call from a loss function right?
So in my problem, I’m trying to do an adversarial training [1], and this is a snippet of my train step:

0  | output = model(x, x_len)
1  | loss = loss_function(output, y)
2  | print('Input: {}'.format(x))
3  | model.embeds.retain_grad()
4  | if args.adv:
5  |     model.zero_grad()
6. |     output = model(x, x_len)
7  |     adv_loss = loss_function(output, y)
8  |     model.embeds.retain_grad()
9  |     adv_loss.backward()
10 |     print('First call: {}'.format(model.embeds.grad), flush=True)
11 |     embed_grad = model.embeds.grad.detach()
12 |     output = model(x, x_len, embed_grad=embed_grad)
13 |     adv_loss = loss_function(output, y)
14 |     loss += adv_loss
15 | model.embeds.retain_grad()
16 | model.zero_grad()
17 | print('Grad before: {}'.format(model.embeds.grad), flush=True)
18 | loss.backward()
19 | print('Outside: {}'.format(model.embeds.grad), flush=True)
20 | optimizer.step()

And this is the forward function of the model:

21 | def forward(self, sentence, sentence_len, embed_grad=None):
22 |     embeds = self.word_embed(sentence)
23 |     self.embeds = embeds
24 |     if embed_grad is not None:
25 |         sign_grad = embed_grad.sign()
26 |         embeds = embeds + self.epsilon * sign_grad
27 |         if self.clamp_embed:
28 |             embeds = torch.clamp(embeds, 0, 1)
29 |     batch_size = len(sentence)
30 |     max_length = max(sentence_len)
31 |     embeds = self.dropout_layer(embeds)
32 |     packed = pack_padded_sequence(embeds, sentence_len, batch_first=True, enforce_sorted=False)