'torch.FloatTensor' object has no attribute 'requires_grad'

Hello, I am a beginner with PyTorch and just running some basic example code in my jupiter notebook. When I was trying to un the code:
import torch
a = torch.ones(2,2,requires_grad=True);

It reported the error that: TypeError: torch.ones received an invalid combination of arguments - got (int, int, requires_grad=bool), but expected one of:

• (int … size)
    didn’t match because some of the keywords were incorrect: requires_grad
  • (torch.Size size)

I know this is not supposed to happen and there might be some version related issue. I am using conda python 3 and installed the PyTorch following the page suggestion. Thanks in advance.

Try to wrap the size: torch.ones((2, 2), requires_grad=True).

1 Like

Hi! Thank you for the response!
But it will report that
torch.ones received an invalid combination of arguments - got (tuple, requires_grad=bool), but expected one of

I am wondering I am using a different PyTorch:(

Which version are you using?
0.4.0 was released just yesterday merging Variables and Tensors.
Did you update?

Yeah I have updated and the issue was solved. Thanks!

Hi @ptrblck, I’m using pytorch 0.4.0 (py36_cuda9.0.176_cudnn7.1.2_1 [cuda90]) trying to run the NN tutorial. I ran it from home a week ago on my laptop no problem, but having difficulties running it on a ubuntu machine with cuda. Has it been updated for the newest version of pytorch, or was it just not meant to support pytorch with cuda?

I first got an error on line: outputs = net(inputs) : TypeError: argument 0 is not a Variable
Then I wrapped inputs in Variable() and got an error on the next line loss = criterion(outputs, labels) : AttributeError: 'torch.LongTensor' object has no attribute 'requires_grad' Any idea how to fix?

The first error indicates an older version. Could you check it with print(torch.__version__)?

1 Like